Your City. Your Christmas. Your Guide to the Magic.
From the dazzling lights of downtown Toronto to charming neighbourhood markets, festive traditions, hidden gems and magical holiday experiences across the GTA, discover everything that makes Christmas in and around the city unforgettable.
Whether you're searching for free family fun, sparkling light displays, Christmas markets, Santa sightings or the perfect festive night out, we've brought the season together in one place.
Explore verified 2026 event dates, admission details, helpful tips and direct links to organizers, so you can spend less time searching and more time making memories.
Big-city sparkle. Small-town charm. A little Christmas magic around every corner.
Find your festive favourites, discover something new and make this holiday season one to remember.
Toronto Christmas traditions, then and now
- 1905: Eaton’s sponsored Toronto’s first Santa Claus Parade on December 2. Its first float collected Santa at Union Station and brought him to the downtown Eaton’s store. Parade history
- 1967: The City says Cavalcade of Lights has brought holiday cheer since 1967. Its 2026–27 season runs November 28–January 7, with daily hours of 5–10pm. Check the City’s event page
- 1832 / 2010: Gooderham & Worts began in 1832; the Distillery Winter Village began in 2010 as Toronto’s first European-style Christmas market. Read our Distillery Winter Village guide · Distillery history and facts
Winter skating and Christmas farms
Toronto’s outdoor artificial-ice rinks typically open in late November and close in March. Exact hours vary by location and weather, so check the City’s live rink status and drop-in skating information before heading out. Nathan Phillips Square’s reflecting pool becomes a public skating rink each winter. Browse Toronto skating rinks for more options. The City’s Nathan Phillips Square information has current venue details.
Christmas Farms & Holiday Shopping: Springridge Farm’s Christmas Gourmet Shoppe at 7256 Bell School Line in Milton features festive foods, gifts and holiday baking. Its current site lists daily 9am–5pm hours through Christmas and Christmas trees from November 20. No separate admission is listed for browsing the Barn Market and bakery; purchases cost extra. This is seasonal shopping, not a separately scheduled festival. Check the Christmas Gourmet Shoppe and current farm homepage.
For a timed GTA farm experience, Downey’s Farm in Caledon lists Christmas at the Farm from November 28 to December 20, 2026, plus a separate pre-cut tree lot from November 20 to December 24. See event dates and ticket details.
Continue browsing Christmas lights, holiday markets, and seasonal Toronto ideas.
Confirmed holiday dates, in order
-
Christmas Tree Book Folding Workshop
Saturday, November 7 · Riverdale Library
Hours: 10am–noon
Admission: Registration is full; the Toronto Public Library listing offers a waitlist. No price is stated.
A workshop for teens and adults to turn an old book into a giftable piece of eco-friendly book art.
-
Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas! The Musical
November 10–22, 2026 · CAA Ed Mirvish Theatre · 244 Victoria Street, Toronto
Hours: Tue–Sat 7:30pm · Wed 1:30pm · Sat/Sun 2pm · added Nov 14 10:30am and Nov 20 1:30pm
Admission: Ticketed; prices vary by performance. Check Mirvish for availability.
A stage adaptation of Dr. Seuss’ Christmas story, with Whoville sets and costumes and songs including “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch” and “Welcome Christmas.” Running time is 85 minutes with no intermission. Mirvish recommends it for all ages; low-lying fog and flashing lights are used.
-
Holiday Photo Sessions at Agincourt Library
November 11, 12 and 14 · Agincourt Library
Hours: Nov 11: 2–4pm, 6–8pm · Nov 12: 10am–noon, 2–4pm · Nov 14: 10am–noon, 2–4pm
Admission: Free 10-minute family photo session; registration required.
Toronto Public Library lists six session times. Check the current listing for registration availability and session details.
-
Downtown Whitby Christmas Market
Friday, November 13 and Saturday, November 14 · Celebration Square, 405 Dundas Street West, Whitby
Hours: Fri 4–9pm · Sat 10am–8pm
Admission: Free admission, according to the Downtown Whitby BIA.
The BIA lists two days of holiday entertainment, family activities, seasonal treats and local vendors. Check its current event page for updates.
-
Youngplace Art & Craft Holiday Market
Saturday, November 14 · Youngplace, 180 Shaw St., Toronto
Hours: Noon–6pm
Admission: Free tickets; register through the organizer.
The organizer describes a one-day market alongside the Toronto Potters Holiday Pottery Sale.
-
Toronto Zoo Coca-Cola Holiday Caravan
Sunday, November 15 · Toronto Zoo front entrance
Hours: 9:30am–12:30pm
Admission: Free family photo with Santa; Zoo admission is not required. Paid parking is enforced.
The Zoo invites families to stop by for a free photo with Santa. Check the official event page before travelling because event details may change.
-
St. Lawrence Winter Market
November 19–December 22 · Market Street
Hours: Thu/Fri 11am–7pm · Sat/Sun 10am–7pm · Dec 21–22 10am–7pm
Admission: Free entry; food, drinks and market purchases cost extra.
A downtown market with a clear, day-specific schedule and a free-entry price point. It runs Thursday through Sunday, with the additional Monday–Tuesday dates of December 21–22.
-
Bloor-Yorkville Holiday Magic
Saturday, November 21 · Bloor-Yorkville
Hours: 5–7pm · Holiday Magic
Admission: Free outdoor concert and light ceremony. Shopping and dining are separate costs.
A compact early-season choice: the outdoor concert and lighting ceremony share a two-hour window. Neighborhood lights continue November 21–December 31, so the illuminated stroll lasts beyond opening night.
-
Build and Take Home a LEGO® Ornament at Square One
November 21, 22, 27, 28 and 29 · Square One Shopping Centre · Level 2, near the LEGO Store
Hours: 11am–7pm on the listed dates; ornaments while supplies last
Admission: LEGO Insider membership required; event price and ticket/RSVP requirements are not stated.
LEGO lists 1,000 ornaments per scheduled day, first come, first served. This is the separate Square One activity, not the Toronto Eaton Centre workshop.
LEGO Canada holiday activity details · Square One event details
-
Original Santa Claus Parade
Sunday, November 22 · Toronto
Hours: Route and schedule forthcoming
Admission: No admission or viewing-cost details are confirmed here.
The date is confirmed; the organizer says the route map is coming soon. Plan around the day, but wait for the official route and schedule before choosing a viewing spot or making travel plans.
-
Aurora Christmas Market
November 27–29 and December 4–6 · Aurora Town Square
Hours: 5–8:30pm
Admission: Free admission; purchases may cost extra.
Two Friday-to-Sunday evening runs give north-of-Toronto planners a distinct community-market option. Check the Town’s event page for any program updates before setting out.
-
The Unauthorized Hallmark(ish) Parody Musical
November 28, 2026–January 3, 2027 · Meridian Arts Centre · Lyric Theatre · 5040 Yonge St, North York
Hours: Multiple performances · dates and times vary
Admission: Ticketed event; prices and availability vary by performance. Check the official ticket calendar.
A musical comedy parody of holiday-movie tropes follows an overworked city executive returning to her hometown, with a cookie-contest conspiracy and a runaway moose. The Toronto engagement runs November 28–January 3; check the calendar for performance dates and times.
Ticketmaster performance calendar · Hallmark(ish) show information
-
We Love Willowdale Christmas Market
Saturday, November 28 · Mel Lastman Square, North York
Hours: Market 2–8pm · tree lighting 6:30–7pm · sing-along 7–8pm
Admission: $5 suggested RSVP donation for ages 13+; a no-donation RSVP is available.
The organizer confirms an outdoor market at Mel Lastman Square, with the tree lighting scheduled for 6:30–7pm and the tree expected to light closer to 7. No prior-year giveaway is promised.
-
Cavalcade of Lights
November 28, 2026–January 7, 2027 · Nathan Phillips Square · 100 Queen St W, Toronto
Hours: Daily 5–10pm · opening night November 28
Admission: Free to attend; the City confirms free public skating to music.
The City confirms an opening-night tree and square lighting ceremony, main-stage performances, immersive installations, free public skating to music and a professional figure-skating showcase. Lighting elements, select installations and skating continue through January 7. Check the City page for current program details.
City of Toronto dates, hours and program · Destination Toronto event guide
-
Christmas at the Farm · Downey’s Farm
November 28–December 20 · Santa: Nov 28–29, Dec 5–6, 12–13 and 19–20 · 13682 Heart Lake Road, Caledon
Hours: Daily 10am–3:30pm · scheduled experience about 75 minutes
Admission: $19.99 + HST per guest ages 2–92; children 23 months and under are free. Timed tickets required.
Choose a timed Santa visit on Nov 28–29, Dec 5–6, Dec 12–13 or Dec 19–20. The roughly 75-minute experience includes a wagon ride, magic show, letter to Santa and reindeer-food activity; farm animals and Frozen Fairways are available before or after. Check live ticket times before travelling.
Downey’s Farm Christmas event and tickets · Farm tree-lot dates and hours
-
Riverside Holiday Market
Sunday, November 29 · Ralph Thornton Community Centre, 765 Queen East
Hours: Starts 11am · published end times differ
Admission: Check the organizer for current RSVP details.
The Riverside BIA lists 11am–4pm; Toronto Public Library lists 11am–4:30pm. The BIA also lists free Santa photos, live music, hot chocolate, kids' crafts and treats, plus 20+ vendors. Confirm the end time and RSVP before travelling.
Riverside BIA event details · Toronto Public Library listing
-
Fleurs de Villes JOYEUX
December 2–6 · Bloor-Yorkville
Hours: Most installations in open areas: 10am–9pm
Admission: Free to explore; purchases and refreshments are separate.
The BIA describes 25+ floral installations. Most are in open areas, and daylight is the recommended time to tour. Treat the count as an organizer estimate, not a mapped route; check the official listing for current details.
-
CONCERT: Holiday Sax
Wednesday, December 2 · North York Central Library, Auditorium (2nd floor), 5120 Yonge Street
Hours: 6–7pm
Admission: No advance registration or ticket is required; no price is stated.
Toronto-based saxophone quartet Sidecar78 plays arrangements spanning jazz, ragtime, classical and contemporary standards. All ages are welcome.
-
Elf in Concert
December 3–6, 2026 · Roy Thomson Hall · 60 Simcoe St, Toronto
Hours: Thu/Fri 7:30pm · Sat 2pm & 7:30pm · Sun 2pm
Admission: Ticketed; prices and availability vary by performance and seat. Check TSO for current details.
Watch the full film while the Toronto Symphony Orchestra performs John Debney’s original score live, conducted by Christopher Dragon. Saturday and Sunday both have 2pm performances for a daytime outing.
Toronto Symphony Orchestra show details · TSO showtimes and tickets
-
Holiday Fair in the Square
December 10–20 · closed December 14 · Sankofa Square
Hours: Tue–Fri 4–10pm · Sat/Sun noon–10pm
Admission: Free admission; food, shopping and purchases cost extra.
A downtown evening market with a useful weekend-versus-weekday schedule. It is closed Monday, December 14; confirm the organizer’s current visitor information before travelling.
-
Cranberry Christmas Market
Saturday, December 12 · Mississauga Seniors’ Centre, 1389 Cawthra Road, Mississauga
Hours: 11am–5pm
Admission: Free admission; donations of non-perishable food or hygiene items are encouraged.
Mississauga Arts Council describes a curated market of local vendors, festive music and community activities. The new venue is beside Carmen Corbasson Community Centre.
-
Goblin:Christmas Carol
December 12, 2026–January 10, 2027 · CAA Theatre · 651 Yonge Street, Toronto
Hours: Tue–Sat 7:30pm · Wed 1:30pm · Sat/Sun 2pm
Admission: Ticketed; check Mirvish for current prices and seat availability.
A world-premiere Off-Mirvish production: when a performance of A Christmas Carol is jeopardized, the goblins step onstage to save Christmas. Holiday-week schedules vary; Mirvish lists no shows December 25 or January 1. Advisory: strong language, discussion of Santa Claus and mature themes; recommended for ages 14+. No running time is published.
-
Handel’s Messiah
December 15–20, 2026 · Roy Thomson Hall · 60 Simcoe St, Toronto
Hours: Tue/Wed/Fri/Sat 7:30pm · Sun 3pm
Admission: Ticketed; prices and availability vary by performance and seat. Check TSO for current details.
Ivor Bolton conducts Handel’s oratorio with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, joined by soprano Louise Alder, mezzo-soprano Deepa Johnny, tenor Paul Appleby and baritone Joshua Hopkins.
Toronto Symphony Orchestra show details · TSO showtimes and tickets
-
Mitten Wreaths at Malvern Library
Saturday, December 19 · Malvern Library, 30 Sewells Road, Toronto
Hours: 2–3pm
Admission: Program cost is not stated. Registration opens November 19 at 9am; drop-ins are welcome if capacity allows.
Children ages 6–12 can create a festive mitten wreath. Check the Toronto Public Library listing for current registration and availability.
Free entry and paid extras
St. Lawrence Winter Market, Holiday Fair in the Square and Aurora Christmas Market list free admission; food and shopping purchases are separate. Cavalcade is free to attend, with free public skating confirmed by the City. We Love Willowdale has a no-donation RSVP option alongside its suggested donation.
For The Distillery Winter Village, use the existing Distillery Winter Village 2026 guide for its date-specific schedule and admission details instead of relying on a duplicate event listing.
Choose by timing and location
For a downtown market, compare the St. Lawrence Winter Market and Holiday Fair in the Square. For a free outdoor evening, choose Bloor-Yorkville Holiday Magic on November 21 or Cavalcade at Nathan Phillips Square November 28–January 7, daily 5–10pm. Families can note the Santa Claus Parade date; use our complete parade guide for the latest viewing and travel-planning information as the organizer publishes details. Aurora and Willowdale offer options north of downtown.
For broader seasonal planning, browse Toronto holiday markets, Christmas lights, public skating and New Year’s Eve. Check current organizer information before making plans.
Keep the winter going
Use this 2026–27 planning list for winter outings beyond the holiday calendar. Confirmed dates and pending announcements are labelled separately; linked organizer pages are the final check before you go.
-
One Of A Kind Christmas Show
November 27–December 6, 2026 · Organizer date confirmed
More than 800 Canadian artisans, including 175 new makers, with handmade gifts, festive décor, art, fashion and food at Enercare Centre, Exhibition Place.
-
Miracle Toronto
Both Toronto locations open November 20, 2026 · closing dates unconfirmed · Organizer date confirmed
The local organizer lists Bloor at Third Place and Harbourfront at Boxcar Social. Check directly for hours, reservations and age rules.
-
Glow in the Wild — Toronto Zoo
September 3, 2026–January 3, 2027 · Organizer date confirmed
A separately ticketed nighttime lantern experience; Zoo Glow admission does not include viewing Zoo animals. Check the Zoo’s ticket page for current terms.
-
Christmas in the Village at Kids Safety Village
2026 dates to be announced · Details awaiting confirmation
The Kids Safety Village of Durham Region describes an outdoor walk-through of miniature buildings decorated and lit for Christmas at 1129 Athol St, Whitby. Its event page says 2026 dates will be announced; hours, admission and ticket requirements are not confirmed there. Optional food, gift-card, toy and Village donations are listed.
-
Toronto Light Festival
2027 dates and program not verified · Details awaiting confirmation
The official site returned an error during the November 2, 2026 check. That is an access issue, not confirmation of cancellation or of a new edition. Do not plan a visit without current organizer details.
-
The Bentway Skate Trail
2026–27 ice-trail dates and services awaiting organizer · Details awaiting confirmation
The official information reviewed did not confirm this winter’s opening, hours, rentals, admission or weather closures. Check The Bentway’s winter announcement before visiting.
-
Skating at Nathan Phillips Square
Check the City’s 2026–27 rink schedule and live status · Details awaiting confirmation
The City lists the square as an outdoor skating location and describes winter rentals, but the reviewed pages do not confirm this season’s opening date or rental prices. Check current rink status and closures.
-
Natural-ice skating
City’s 2026–27 approved-location list expected in late November or early December · Details awaiting confirmation
The City says skating on Grenadier Pond and other open bodies of water is not allowed. Its 2026–27 natural-ice approvals are expected in late November or early December; no locations or schedules are confirmed yet. Do not include Grenadier Pond unless the City changes its safety guidance and explicitly approves it as a rink.
-
City toboggan hills
Snow- and safety-dependent · Seasonal activity · check live status
The City may inspect or close listed hills when conditions are unsafe. Check the current status and follow posted closures before leaving; snow cover is not guaranteed.
-
Winterlicious
2027 dates, restaurant list and menu prices not yet published · Details awaiting confirmation
Check the City’s program page for the next edition’s dates, restaurant roster, prices and reservation schedule. Do not carry 2026 prices or participants forward.
-
Blue Mountain ski day trip
Resort lists December 10, 2026 as 2026–27 opening day · Organizer date confirmed
An announced opening date does not guarantee lift operations on a particular day. Check the live trail and lift report, weather, tickets and travel arrangements before booking.
-
New Year’s Eve in Toronto
December 31, 2026 · City program awaiting announcement · Details awaiting confirmation
The City has not confirmed a 2026 celebration location, fireworks or schedule in the official information reviewed. Check the dedicated guide for confirmed listings and updates.
-
Niagara Grape & Wine Festival Icewine Series
January 15–31, 2027 · Icewine Village: January 16–17 and 23–24 · Organizer date confirmed
The organizer lists the 2027 series, including the Cool As Ice Gala, Discovery Pass and Niagara-on-the-Lake Icewine Village. Check each event for tickets and details.
-
Toronto Maple Leafs
2026–27 regular-season schedule published · Organizer date confirmed
Check the team schedule and official ticket information for game dates, availability, prices and arena policies. Seat value and warm-up access are not guaranteed.
-
Canadian International AutoShow
February 12–21, 2027 · Organizer date confirmed
The organizer confirms the show at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Its FAQ lists December 1, 2026 as the ticket-sale date; check the FAQ for current visitor information.
-
Kensington Market Winter Solstice
Festival December 12–21, 2026 · parade December 21 · Organizer date confirmed
Red Pepper Spectacle Arts lists the festival dates and parade day. Check the organizer’s program for the parade start time, route and participation details.
-
Family Day weekend
Monday, February 15, 2027 · venue programs not yet confirmed · Details awaiting confirmation
The provincial calendar confirms the holiday date, not individual skating, museum, Harbourfront or conservation-area programming. Check each operator’s calendar.
-
Winter exhibitions at the ROM
New exhibitions open November 7 and December 19, 2026, and January 24, 2027 · Organizer date confirmed
Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2026, Raptors: Fierce & Feathered Dinosaurs, and This Land: The Group of Seven and Their Contemporaries have these opening dates. Check the ROM for each run, admission and hours.
-
AGO: Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — OPERA (QM. 15)
Opens January 20, 2027 · on view through mid-2028 · Organizer date confirmed
The AGO’s 2027 announcement confirms the exhibition opening. Check the museum for current hours, admission and free-entry offers.