Redpath Express 2026: Free Christmas Train Rides at HarbourFrost

Ride the free Redpath Express at Harbourfront Centre’s HarbourFrost, November 20–December 20, 2026. See all 15 Friday–Sunday dates, hours and family planning tips.

Promotional illustration of a nostalgic red holiday train beside Christmas lights and Toronto’s waterfront skyline; not an official photograph of the Redpath Express.
Supplied promotional illustration, not an official Redpath Express event photograph. Train appearance, boarding area and decorations shown are illustrative.

Event details

Categories: EVENTS · Santa & Family Fun / Free Christmas Events

When: · Fridays 5–9 p.m. · Saturdays noon–9 p.m. · Sundays noon–6 p.m. Only on the 15 listed dates.

Where:

Harbourfront Centre Campus, 235 Queens Quay West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Sankofa Square venue guide

Cost: Free admission · no tickets required

About the event

A festive train ride, holiday lights and Toronto’s waterfront make the Redpath Express a family outing to consider this Christmas season. Harbourfront Centre’s official listing invites visitors to ride through the HarbourFrost campus, taking in its decorations and seasonal atmosphere. The experience is presented in partnership with Redpath, with free admission and no tickets required.

The season runs from November 20 to December 20, 2026, but the train is not a daily attraction. It operates only on the 15 Friday, Saturday and Sunday dates below. Use the day-specific hours rather than treating the entire date range as continuous service.

Every operating date and time

All times are local Toronto time.

  • Friday, November 20: 5–9 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 21: noon–9 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 22: noon–6 p.m.
  • Friday, November 27: 5–9 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 28: noon–9 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 29: noon–6 p.m.
  • Friday, December 4: 5–9 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 5: noon–9 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 6: noon–6 p.m.
  • Friday, December 11: 5–9 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 12: noon–9 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 13: noon–6 p.m.
  • Friday, December 18: 5–9 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 19: noon–9 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 20: noon–6 p.m.

No Monday-to-Thursday operation is listed. These are operating windows, not individual departure times. The organizer does not publish a departure frequency, last-boarding time or reserved ride slots.

What to expect on the Redpath Express

The organizer describes a festive train journey through the Harbourfront Centre campus, surrounded by twinkling lights and HarbourFrost activity. It is an opportunity to see the seasonal surroundings from the ride rather than simply walking between the campus’s holiday attractions.

Friday evenings and Saturday evenings provide after-dark options for enjoying the lights. Saturdays also offer a daytime window from noon; Sundays finish earlier, at 6 p.m. Choose the published session that works for your family rather than assuming the train follows another attraction’s hours.

The event is presented for families and other visitors enjoying the holiday atmosphere. The reviewed official page does not announce a Santa encounter aboard the train, so a train visit should not be treated as a Santa-photo booking.

Free admission and boarding information

Harbourfront Centre explicitly states free admission and no tickets required. There is no published paid ride ticket or booking requirement for this attraction. Purchases at nearby markets or food businesses are separate from the train experience.

The main event page does not specify the exact boarding location, ride duration, passenger capacity, age or height restrictions, stroller arrangements, mobility-device accommodation or whether children must ride with an adult. Ask Harbourfront Centre about any requirement that affects your group before travelling, and follow staff instructions when you arrive.

Free admission does not guarantee immediate boarding. Waiting times, boarding procedures and availability within each operating window are not confirmed. Allow flexibility in your outing and do not plan around an assumed ride length or a guaranteed departure.

Plan a waterfront family outing

The published venue is Harbourfront Centre Campus, 235 Queens Quay West, Toronto. Use the organizer’s directions link and campus map to reach the grounds. The general address is not a confirmed boarding pin; ask event staff where to join the train.

Dress for outdoor waterfront conditions and check the forecast before leaving. Comfortable footwear and layers are practical for moving between activities. The reviewed page does not confirm a weather-cancellation policy, sheltered waiting area or alternative indoor ride.

On opening Friday, November 20, the separate Light Up the Night tree-lighting celebration runs from 6:45 to 9 p.m. in Community Square. Its exact illumination minute is not published. The Redpath Express operates from 5 to 9 p.m. that evening, but neither attraction’s timetable guarantees enough time to complete both at a particular moment.

The HarbourFrost Makers Market runs November 20–22 only, featuring work by Harbourfront Centre’s Craft & Design Artists-in-Residence. Its Friday hours are 3–9 p.m., while Saturday and Sunday close at 6 p.m. Frostbite Lane is a different market, with its own Friday-to-Sunday schedule through December 20. Check each attraction’s official hours, and do not assume that opening-night performers or characters appear on every train date.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Redpath Express free, and do I need a ticket?
Harbourfront Centre confirms free admission and no tickets required. Immediate boarding and a particular departure are not guaranteed; nearby shopping and food purchases are separate costs.
Does the Redpath Express operate every day?
No. It runs on 15 listed Friday–Sunday dates from November 20 to December 20, 2026. Fridays are November 20 and 27 and December 4, 11 and 18, 5–9 p.m.; Saturdays are November 21 and 28 and December 5, 12 and 19, noon–9 p.m.; Sundays are November 22 and 29 and December 6, 13 and 20, noon–6 p.m. No Monday-to-Thursday operation is listed.
Where do I board, and how long is the ride?
The published venue is Harbourfront Centre Campus, 235 Queens Quay West, Toronto. The main event page does not specify the boarding point, ride duration, capacity or departure frequency. Check with Harbourfront Centre or event staff.
Is the train wheelchair accessible or suitable for strollers?
The reviewed official page does not confirm mobility-device accommodation, boarding accessibility, stroller arrangements or age and height restrictions. Contact Harbourfront Centre before travelling if these details affect your visit.
Can I combine the train with other HarbourFrost activities?
Yes, subject to each attraction’s own schedule. The tree lighting is November 20, 6:45–9 p.m.; the Makers Market runs November 20–22; Frostbite Lane has separately scheduled Friday-to-Sunday dates through December 20. Opening-night performers are not confirmed for every train date.

Participation: Confirm the boarding point with event staff. The street address identifies the campus, not a published boarding location, and the organizer does not state ride duration or waiting times.

Find it under: FREE EXPERIENCES · Toronto Events · Christmas & Holiday · Family Friendly · Free Events · Holiday Train · HarbourFrost · Harbourfront Centre · November 2026 · December 2026

Official sources and Toronto discovery

Check Harbourfront Centre’s official Redpath Express schedule — Official organizer page checked November 4, 2026: all 15 operating dates, daily hours, campus address, free admission, no tickets required and Redpath partnership confirmed. Boarding point, duration, capacity, accessibility, waiting times and weather arrangements are not specified.

Free Stuff and deals · Toronto This Week · Toronto Pop-Ups & Activations · Toronto Events

Happening in Toronto now

WTF Toronto creates guides using independent editorial research, official sources, local knowledge and firsthand experience where available. Commercial relationships are disclosed where applicable.